An Underdog Story: 2007-2008 New York Giants

An Underdog Story:  2007-2008 New York Giants

The 10-6 Giants became world champions after defeating the undefeated Patriots in one of the best Super Bowls in the history of the sport.   One of football’s most iconic moments happened with David Tyree making an unbelievable helmet catch.  The Giants, being down 10-14 in the fourth quarter, marched down 83 yards for a touchdown with only 2:42 to win the Super Bowl for New York.

In the playoffs, the team had to surpass the Buccaneers, Cowboys, and Packers to face the undefeated Patriots in the Super Bowl. This was no easy schedule to face in the playoffs. In fact, nobody ever even thought that the Giants could beat the Cowboys, which makes winning the Super Bowl truly amazing. In the NFC Championship, kicker Lawrence Tynes broke the record of the longest postseason field goal (47 yards) in a huge overtime situation to seal the game for the Giants.

Some of the key athletes on this roster were quarterback Eli Manning, running back Brandon Jacobs, wide receiver Plaxico Burress, defensive end Osi Umenyiora, and defensive end Michael Strahan. Eli Manning has been the team’s starter for plenty of years now and has always been able to give up solid numbers. Defensive end Michael Strahan would later on go to enter the NFL Hall of Fame, and it wouldn’t surprise me if Manning would also enter. That season Strahan ended up having a forced fumble, nine sacks, and forty-five solo tackles.

Tom Coughlin was the outstanding coach for this underdog team. With his time in the Giants organization, he was able to earn two Super Bowl wins (XLII and XLVI) and his total coaching record ended up to be 182-157. Coughlin started his career with the Jacksonville Jaguars and is now spending his time as their Executive Vice President of Football Operations. He was given his job with the Giants after they went 4-12 the previous year under ex-head coach Jim Fassel.

The Giants organization began on August 1, 1925 and is now housed at Metlife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey. The Giants were actually once named after what is now known as the San Francisco Giants. The Giants have also won two different championships in 1991 and 1987. Also, Tom Coughlin, the head coach that lead the team to their two Super Bowl championships, was also a wide receiver coach for the Giants from 1988-1990.

Starters Offense:

Quarterback, Eli Manning #10

Running Back, Brandon Jacobs #27

Full Back, Madison Hedgecock #39

Wide Receiver, Plaxico Burress #17

Wide Receiver, Amani Toomer #81

Tight End, Jeremy Shockey #80

Left Tackle, David Diehl #66

Left Guard, Rich Seubert #69

Center, Shaun O´Hara #60

Right Guard, Chris Snee #76

Right Tackle, Kareem McKenzie #67

Starters Defense:

Defensive End, Michael Strahan #92

Defensive End, Osi Umenyiora #72

Defensive Tackle, Fred Robbins #98

Nose Tackle, Barry Cofield #96

Middle Linebacker, Antonio Pierce #58

Linebacker, Mathias Kiwanuka #97

Linebacker, Kawika Mitchell #55

Corner back, Aaron Ross #31

Corner back, Sam Madison #29

Strong Safety, James Butler #37

Free Safety, Gibril Wilson #28

Special Teams:

Punter, Jeff Feagles #18

Kicker, Lawrence Tynes #9

Print Friendly, PDF & Email